Pumpuang Duangjan (พุ่มพวง ดวงจันทร์) was a very famous singer of lukthung, or Thai “country” music in the 1980s who died tragically young in 1992.

What follows is a translation of one of her songs, “The Man in My Dream” (ผู้ชายในฝัน). Historically in Thailand there were folk music traditions that contained sexual content. This song combines that approach with a more “modern” style, both in music and lyrics.

There are more recent renditions of this song on YouTube. . .

And while the above girl’s rendition is cute. . . I haven’t found any recent versions that have the same degree of emotion as Pumpuang Duangjan’s original. Maybe people today simply don’t feel “desire” in the same way that people used to. After all, when you have the world in your cell phone, how can you “feel” what Pumpuang Duangjan felt and expressed in her singing?

So enjoy feeling Pumpuang Duangjan’s desire!! (The translation at times is a bit loose in order to capture the spirit rather than the literal meaning of the words).

ตั้งแต่เป็นสาวเต็มกาย

Ever since I’ve been a girl in blossom,

หาผู้ชายถูกใจไม่มี

I haven’t found a man who suits me,

เมื่อคืนฝันดีน่าตบ

Last night I had a quite a dream,

ฝันๆว่าพบผู้ชายยอดดี

I dreamt that I met a real sweetie.

พาไปเที่ยวดูหนัง

He took me to a movie,

พาไปนั่งจู๋จี๋

He took me to sit and whisper secretly,

แล้วพาไปเที่ยวชมสวน

Then he took me to a park,

เด็ดดอกลำดวนส่งให้ด้วยซี

Where he plucked a blossom to give to me.

เสียบหูให้ตั้งหลายหน

He tried to stick it behind my ear,

เสียบหล่นเสียบหล่นตั้งห้าหกที

But it fell off time and time again,

ต๊กใจตื่นตอนตีสี่

Then with a start, I awoke at 4 AM,

แหมเสียดายจัง เฮ้อเสียดายจัง

Oh! What a loss, Ah! What a loss for me!!

 

ตีห้าไม่ถึงก็จวน

By 5 AM I couldn’t stop thinking,

คิดทบทวนเรื่องฝันชั้นดี

About this beautiful dream,

ผู้ชายอะไรน่าหยิก

And this hot hunk of a man,

กระซี้กระซิกน่ารักน่าตี

Who’s loveable to the extreme.

เพียรมาออดออเซาะ

He has so many sweet words,

คำเสนาะมากมี

That he uses to woo,

ฝันว่าคิดอยู่หวำหวาม

But if he oversteps the bounds,

ถ้าถูกลวนลามจะทำไงดี

What on earth should I do?

ความคิดพอหยุดลงปั๊บ

I put that thought aside,

หมุบหมับหนุบหนับ เขาจับเขาจี๋

And he quickly grabbed and then he squeezed,

ต๊กใจตื่นมาเสียนี่

Then with a start, I awoke,

แหมเสียดายจัง เฮ้อเสียดายจัง

Oh! What a loss, Ah! What a loss for me!!

 

ตีห้าไม่ถึงก็จวน

By 5 AM I couldn’t stop thinking,

คิดทบทวนเรื่องฝันชั้นดี

About this beautiful dream,

ผู้ชายอะไรน่าหยิก

And this hot hunk of a man,

กระซี้กระซิกน่ารักน่าตี

Who’s loveable to the extreme.

เพียรมาออดออเซาะ

He has so many sweet words,

คำเสนาะมากมี

That he uses to woo,

ฝันว่าคิดอยู่หวำหวาม

But if he oversteps the bounds,

ถ้าถูกลวนลามจะทำไงดี

What on earth should I do?

ความคิดพอหยุดลงปั๊บ

I put that thought aside,

หมุบหมับหนุบหนับ เขาจับเขาจี๋

And he quickly grabbed and then he squeezed,

ต๊กใจตื่นมาเสียนี่

Then with a start, I awoke,

แหมเสียดายจัง เฮ้อเสียดายจัง

Oh! What a loss, Ah! What a loss for me!!