Continuing my effort to experiment with different ways that we can use digital media to engage with the past, I tried to make a version of “drunk history.”

For those who don’t know, Drunk History is an American comedy series in which a supposedly intoxicated narrator talks about an episode from American history, using rather crude language. This narrative is interspersed with acted out scenes in which the actors all mouth the words that the drunk narrator says.

Following this model, I tried to make something similar. I don’t have actors, so it is not as elaborate as Drunk History, but I tried to compensate for that by using plenty of “bad words.”

The video I made is about the Vietnamese revolution, Phan Bội Châu.

I call this type of history “crude history” because I use crude language, and because it’s meant to be a rather basic or rudimentary (another meaning of “crude”) version of the past.

If you do not like hearing swear words, do not watch this video!!

This video is not meant to be disrespectful. In fact, the message is meant to be very positive. It is just expressed in a way that most historians, other than Drunk Historians, usually don’t employ when they talk about the past. . . at least not when they talk in public. . .