For several years now I have admired the work of a young UK scholar by the name of Jonathan Saha. Having started out conducting research on criminality in colonial Burma, Saha is now more or less pioneering an emerging field of “Southeast Asian animal history,” or more specifically, of the history of human-animal relations in Southeast Asia.

Beyond that, Saha maintains an impressive blog in which he shares his research-in-progress.

blog

Given the novelty of his theoretical approach to studying the past, and the digital presence that he has created for himself, I really see this guy as a model “twenty-first century scholar,” and I encourage any readers of this blog to check out Jonathan Saha’s blog and to read his research.

In an effort to encourage that to happen, I’ve created a “review” of sorts of one of Jonathan Saha’s articles: “Among the Beasts of Burma: Animals and the Politics of Colonial Sensibilities, c. 1840-1940.”

Full disclosure: I have never met Jonathan Saha, so no, I was not paid to make this video, and for all I know, he may never want to meet or talk to me after he sees it, but hopefully it will make people realize that his scholarship is truly groovy!